Fascination with the Big Cat

by

6946468_orig
Sent in by Richard V., Milwaukee, WI

.

I like British stuff. Punk Rock, Mod style, Club Music, Drinking Beer on public streets in the middle of the day, Barbour coats, Brogues, the sound of old BSA motorcycles and E Type Jaguars. I really like E-Type Jaguars.

.

Harold-Maude-jaguar

.

My obsession with E-types began with “Harold and Maude.” While I was enthralled with the cinematography of Hal Ashby, I was even more interested in the E-Type Jaguar Harold eventually transforms into a hearse. I would still place the E-Type near the top of the most beautiful automobiles ever created. Even as a hearse.

About 10 years later I became close friends with Sean Weber and we eventually became college room mates. Flip Weber, Sean’s dad was just about the coolest guy I had ever met and he had an E-Type Jaguar. A lot of things about Flip were at a seemingly mythical level. His sense of adventure, mono-ski racing, success in business as an early real estate developer in Scottsdale, Az. Everything was slightly larger than life if he was involved in it.

.

Blue-E-type-white-worm

.

Fast Forward 8 years. In Ken Russell’s later years of film making he made a horror film called “Lair of the White Worm.” Not his greatest accomplishment by any means, but there was that car again. Beautifully shot in a dark and rainy night driving scene. All three blades trying to sweep the rain from the wind screen.

.

Flip-Weber-Jaguar-E-Type

.

Fast forward 26 years. Flip Weber died. Around the time of his death, my good friend Sean posted this photo of Flip Next to his E-Type. I am guessing early 1970s up around Flagstaff, Az. A photo I had never seen, but fully captures the spirit of one of the coolest guys I have ever met. I will not even try to point out everything that is great about this photo. All right, I will point out that he is wearing a sidearm and carrying a rifle while out for a drive in his Jaguar. Have a look for yourself. I will never look at E-Type Jaguars the same again.

Richard

.

Editor Note: The picture of Flip hunting with his E-Type reaches a new level of oxymoron. “The Marlboro Man trades his horse for a cat” or “Why Americans love E-Types”. Probably the coolest picture we’ve seen in 2014.

Our Godfather of Patina® in Danvers and Steve McQueen would be proud.

.

Bo-danenberger-e-type

.

Tags:

Leave a Reply

