Our Very Own Tim Kautz Wins the SCCA Presidents Cup




This weekend in Charlotte, N.C. (March 8, 2014) Fuelfeds very own Tim Kautz was told he had won an award and that his presence was required Saturday night at the annual SCCA banquet. “I have no idea what it could be, but if it’s just the Viagra hard charger award, I’ll be honored”, Tim joked on Wednesday before he departed on his south east journey. We don’t know of a more deserving driver that has paid and wrenched  his own way through his entire career, than the graciously humble Tim Kautz.

An appreciative Tim Kautz took home the prestigious Presidents Cup following his victory in the 2013 National Championship Runoffs Formula F race that featured five lead changes on the final lap alone, coming out on top by just 0.010-second.

The Presidents Cup is presented to the driver demonstrating ability, competitiveness and success at the National Championship Runoffs®. The winner is selected by the Stewards of the Meeting and the Chief Steward of the National Championship Runoffs. The inaugural presentation of this award was presented by President Eisenhower at the SCCA races at Andrews Air Force Base in Washington, and the 1954 winner was Bill Spear of Southport, Conn., driving a 4.5 Ferrari. President Eisenhower made the presentation at the White House.

“Wow, amazing,” Kautz said. “It’s an honor just to be here with the legends of the sport, let alone on stage with this award. I love our Club, and its health, and I’m looking forward to many more years of racing.”

In a follow-up interview Tim further stated, “Taking the stage, the reality of the company standing along side you is overwhelming.”  “I’ve had this feeling once before, it was the first time I drove at the alter known as Watkins Glenn, the talented people, the legends and the greatness that have preceded me completely stunned me. Tonight I was honored to share a stage with the very people who paved the way for the award I received.  Bob Hubbard and Jim Downing, Bob Bondurant, Pete Hylton, Kathy Barnes and Dan Gurney.”  “I’m still reeling in the presentations of these prestigious people, I am speechless. My mind is awash in the presence of such greatness. It was Watkins Glenn all over again.”

“I am particularly honored that it was Bruce May who in 1996 won this award as a FF driver (Formula F) Throughout my racing career I have been shadowed by the very people who helped Bruce win his award, Gib Gibson and John and Jackie Taylor.” Tim added in a follow-up interview.  “I thank them and share this award along with the many friends who helped make racing possible. In accepting I am reminded and humbled by the past recipients of this award, Roger Penske, Jim Hall, Skip Barber, Bobby Rahal, Paul Newman, Jim Vasser and David Finch. As a driver, this award is the greatest award I could receive.”



Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: