The Dream is Over

by

.

Growing up on Chicago’s Northshore has led to lifelong exposure to some truly incredible cars. In the 1970’s there was a mythical red car that drove past our school every morning as we played until the school bell rang to start the day. The red car would then pass by after school heading east. I knew it was a rare sports car obviously, but didn’t pay attention to it, but I certainly looked forward to hearing it go by.

Fast forward 20 years, and I was driving/collecting classic cars and motorcycles as finances allowed. But I never forgot about that red car. I concluded it was owned by a doctor or equivalent, living on the east side of Evanston.

Fast forward 20 years again, and Fuelfed’s Coffee & Classics was emerging as the premier classic European gathering in Chicagoland, pulling some of the most exotic cars this side of Jay Leno. But still, I never saw or forgot that red car from my childhood. Damn it, I now had to find it! Month’s of casually hunting down alley’s in east Evanston, I finally found it sleeping behind some black garage doors with glass paned tops. No way I could afford it, but at least I knew where the rainbow ended.

Now what to do? Maybe find partner investors? Maybe tell close collector friends I knew would be good shepherds? No, I’ll just wait, it’ll be my little secret.

Waiting has it’s advantages, but in today’s hot collector market… disadvantages. Woulda, coulda, shoulda as they say.

.

Tags:

One Response to “The Dream is Over”

  1. Paul R Says:

    I watched this show on Velocity a while back, and noticed the familiar Evanston landmarks when Wayne was driving to the car. Thanks for confirming, my guess. Great car!

Leave a Reply

