Last of the Legendary 911 Turbos

by

Ahhhh, the last of the hairy chested 911 Turbos. Air-cooled 3.6 liter, rwd, single big turbo, tons of lag and a real firecracker to drive. I drove a black one back in 1993 and I still remember the salesman telling me to “look a 1/4 mile ahead because you’ll be there in a blink of an eye when the turbo kicks in”. He was right.

This was the benchmark I was to forever judge all future cars by. The only vehicle that I have since driven that took my breath away in the same matter wasn’t a car at all, but a motorcycle. My highly tuned 1985 BMW M100RS prototype. Yes “M”, not “K” or “R”. As in M for BMW Motorsport. M as in M5. But that’s another story for another post.

Tags:

Leave a Reply

