Surprise Ghibli Holiday Treat

by

 

So the wife and I are Christmas shopping last Saturday in Winnetka. As usual, I can only take clothes shopping for only so long. So I decide to see what I can find down a cool looking alley around the corner. Because as every car guy knows, that’s where the good stuff lives.

 

 

So I’m marching down the slushy cobble stone alley and as I round the bend, a flash of Italian red jumps out at me. Are you kidding me? A 1971 Maserati Ghibli SS in pristine condition is sitting there nose to nose with a 1969 Mercedes 280se coupe. Some how I always find these treasures, as if they call out to me to find them. I quickly scan the area to make sure there isn’t some hidden Russian chop shop watching me. I don’t think I’ve ever seen a Ghibli SS in person, let alone one sitting lost and lonely in the snow.

 

 

I cautiously peered in the window. The keys are in it and the door is open! I look around again for snipers. The door opens and I don’t feel the sting of sniper bullets. Hell, I might as well try and wake the sleeping beauty. Well, we all know how that went. So, I pop the hood to see what lays underneath. The big 335hp v8  was still there…dusty, but all there.

 

 

Then I started thinking; what kind of owner would leave a $300,000 Maserati on par with the Ferrari Daytona and Lambo Muira of the era, out in the wild of the Northshore for bankers in Burberry scarves and Brooks Brothers hunting coats to spit on it? Probably someone who probably has more collectable treasures hidden behind the over-head door 20 feet away. I left a Fuelfed magnet on the trunk and card on the seat to see if it finds its way to the Coffee & Classics this Spring just a few blocks away.

It’s experiences like this, that fuels my hunt for the ultimate barn find…and I’ve had a couple.

 

Tags: ,

2 Responses to “Surprise Ghibli Holiday Treat”

  1. Jean Says:

    Maybe the guys wife was mad at him, moved it out of the garage and put her BMW in.

  2. carlo Says:

    ma quella maserati e’ in vendita? e dove?

Leave a Reply

