Our Man Todd Gets His Butterscotch Back

by

After 40 years the original paint was starting to get mighty thin. And even with summer only driving, rust was starting to bubble at the usual spots: the bottom of the front fenders. Even though these pics look good, the paint was starting to be the weak spot on the car.

I decided to take the plunge and paint her. In the Summer of 2007. Little did I know it would be damn near 3 years before I drove her again.

I found my body guy by accident after getting a number of estimates. A guy in a ’67 Lancia with a sweet paint job pulled up beside me while I was driving the 912 early one Saturday morning. We pulled over to talk and he gave me the name of his body guy. Good work, he said, but he could be a little slow. A little slow? Those words would come back to haunt me.

The body guy was in Kenosha, so I drove up to see him. Nasty shop in a worse part of town, but his work was excellent. We struck a deal and I delivered her to him in August of 2007.

About 5 weeks later he came to visit with photos:

It looked like he was doing the work he said he would do, and there were no rusty surprises under the paint.

I didn’t hear from him, so in January of ’08 I called: Wife sick, slow, slow, slow.

Okay, I thought, I’ll be driving by summer.

Late spring ’08, when I would typically be getting the car out of storage, I went to Kenosha and saw this:

“When do you think you’ll shoot it?” I asked innocently. “Pretty quick,” was the reply, “but you probably won’t have it this summer. Wife’s been sick.”

Spring of ’09. The car has paint, but it needs to be buffed. And put back together. It will be ready by July 4th.

July 4th: “Not quite yet. Wife’s been sick.”

To make a long story short, I just picked up the car today. It looks great, but I can’t believe it took 32 months. Here she is on her way to the mechanic for some work and TLC. Would I do it again? Who knows? It’s done now. Those 32 months are behind me and she looks sweet. He did what he said he would do. And the guy who turned me on to him did say he could be a little slow…

See you all at the Porsche Parade in July…

Todd

Congrats Todd you’re a very patience man!

If you would like to share your story (you know you have one or maybe five) with our drivers, please contact the moderator or leave a comment.
Leave a Reply

